Written by Chloë Moss
Directed by Anna Herrmann
8 June 2021 – 15 June 2021

Chloë Moss’s Clean Break play is transformed into an electric adaptation for the screen.

Written by Chloë Moss
Directed by Anna Herrmann

Stream the full film for free on Youtube, Facebook and Instagram from Tuesday 8 June.

Book for our online screening and panel discussion.


8 June 2021 – 15 June 2021

Three women sit in a prison van outside HMP Bronzefield, each caught up in their own worlds as they anticipate what’s next. Sweatbox offers a glimpse into the experience of women as they are pulled away from their lives and transported to prison.

Chloë Moss’s highly original Clean Break play has toured the UK in a prison van since its premiere at the Latitude Festival in 2015 and has been transformed into an electric adaptation for the screen.

Sweatbox is directed by Anna Herrmann, performed by Clean Break Members Funke Adeleke, Jade Small, Posy Sterling and Sarah-Jane Dent and produced by Quiet Storm, founders of Create Not Hate.

Full Credits

- Anna Herrmann
Screenplay - Chloë Moss
Producer - Clancie Brennan
Executive Producer - Rania Robinson
Associate Producer – Maya Ellis
Associate Producer - Emily Wolley
Director of Photography - Sara Dane
Editor - Vathana Suganya Suppiah
First Assistant Director - Anna Saracka
Focus Puller - Ash Lang Wen Li
Focus Puller - Laura Van De Hel
2nd AC - Ash Lang Wen Li
2nd AC - Anastasiya Cherkasyuk
Camera trainee - Samara Addai
Camera trainee - Iona Greaves
DIT - Ellie Bright
Sound Recordist - Lucy Pickering
Gaffer - Marina Lewin
Electrician - Lorene Desportes
Production Designer - Ruth Crawford
Art Director - Franche McArdle
Art Department Assistant - Lucy Fraser
Hair and Make up Designer - Danielle Farrington
Make up Assistant - Jasmine Wratislaw
Runner – Ann Whitley
Runner - Cindy Brennan
Covid Officer - Cassandra Galiwango
Catering - Masie Barlow
Catering - Dolores Carbonari

Sweatbox is supported by the AHRC via the Women, Theatre, Justice research project.

Read More

Cast and Creatives

Anna Herrmann – Director

Chloë Moss – Writer

Funke Adekele – Cast

Jade Small – Cast

Posy Sterling – Cast

Sarah Jane Dent – Cast

Quiet Storm – Producer

Other Productions you may like


Through This Mist

Clean Break
15.07.21 – 17.07.21


by Sonya Hale
Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Sound Cloud or where ever you get your podcasts.
18.05.21 – 31.07.21